HGBooks Home
NORAH LOFTS (1904-1983)

Norah Lofts was a prolific British author who wrote not only historical romances for over 50 years, but also wrote nonfiction and biographies. However, she is best known for her historical novels, many of which were set in the nineteenth century or had English history as backgrounds, though other nations and eras--including Biblical times--were represented in her writings. Her novels are well known not only for their historical accuracy, but also for her vigorous style of storytelling and her sense of history and her capacity to transmit the fascination of the past.

Lofts' novels have a strong sense of time and place. Many of her historical romances are set in Suffolk, England and many of them are set around houses and estates. Both the landscape and houses have a permanency that their occupants lack, although the occupants may leave impressions. The `Suffolk Trilogy' (The Town House, The House at Old Vine, and The House at Sunset) spans 600 years in the history of a house, from its beginnings as the home of a mediaeval wool-merchant to the present day, and Bless This House tells the story of the fortunes of a beautiful Elizabethan house in Suffolk in eight episodes, each narrated by a different character who plays a part in its history.

Norah Lofts also published several thrillers under the pseudonym Peter Curtis and the pseudonym Juliet Astley. She won an American Booksellers Association award for her first work, I Met a Gypsy (1935), and a Georgette Heyer Award for The Day of the Butterfly (1979).


Here Was a Man: A Romantic History of Sir Walter Raleigh, (1936)
White Hell of Pity, (1937)
Requiem for Idols, (1938)
Out of This Nettle, (1938); published as Colin Lowrie (1939)
Blossom Like the Rose, (1939)
Hester Roon, (1940)
The Road to Revelation, (1941)
The Brittle Glass, (1942)
Michael and All Angels, (1943); published as The Golden Fleece, (1944)
Jassy, (1944)
To See a Fine Lady, (1946)
Silver Nutmeg, (1947)
A Calf for Venus, (1949); published as Letty, (1968)
Esther, (1950)
The Lute Player, (1951)
Bless This House, (1954) (as Literary Guild selection)
Winter Harvest, (1955)
Queen in Waiting, (1955); published in 1958; as Eleanor the Queen: The Story of the Most Famous Woman of the Middle Ages,
Afternoon of an Autocrat, (1956); published as The Deadly Gift, (1967); published The Devil in Clevely, (1968)
Scent of Cloves, (1957)

* The Town House, (1959)
* The House at Old Vine, (1961)
* The House at Sunset, (1962)

The Concubine: A Novel Based Upon the Life of Anne Boleyn, (1964)
How Far to Bethlehem? (1965)
The Lost Ones, (1969)
Madselin, (1969)
The King's Pleasure, (1969)
Lovers All Untrue, (1970)
A Rose for Virtue: The Very Private Life of Hortense, (1971)
Charlotte, (1972 - London); published as Out of the Dark, (1972 - New York)
Nethergate, (1973)
Crown of Aloes, (1974)
Checkmate, (1975)
Walk into My Parlour, (1975)

* Knight's Acre, (1975)
* The Homecoming, (1975)
* The Lonely Furrow, (1976)

Gad's Hall, (1977)
Haunted House, (1978 - London); published as The Haunting of Gad's Hall, (1979, New York)
The Day of the Butterfly, (1979)
A Wayside Tavern, (1980)
The Claw, (1981)
The Old Priory, (1982)
Pargeters, (1984)

I Met a Gypsy, (1935)
Heaven in Your Hand and Other Stories, (1958)
Is There Anybody There? (1974, London); published as Hauntings: Is There Anybody There? (1975, New York)
Saving Face and Other Stories, (1983)

Women in the Old Testament: Twenty Psychological Portraits, (1949)
Eternal France: A History of France, 1789-1944, (with Margery Weiner), (1968)
The Story of Maude Reed (for children), (1971, London); published as The Maude Reed Tale, (1972, New York)
Rupert Hatton's Tale (for children), (1972, London); published as Rupert Hatton's Story, (1973, New York - Junior Literary Guild selection)
Domestic Life in England, (1976)
Queens of Britain, (1977, London); published as Queens of England, (1977, New York)
Emma Hamilton, (1978)
Anne Boleyn, (1979)

Novels Published under the pseudonym JULIET ASTLEY:
The Fall of Midas, (1975)
Copsi Castle, (1978)

Novels Published under the Pseudonym PETER CURTIS:
Dead March in Three Keys, (1940, London); published as No Question of Murder, (1959, New York); and published as Bride of Moat House, by Norah Lofts, (1975, New York)
You're Best Alone, (1971); and published with Requiem for Idols, in Two by Norah Lofts, (1981)
Lady Living Alone, (1945)
The Devil's Own, (1960); published as The Witches, (1966); and published as The Little Wax Doll, (1970)

Home  | About Us  | Contact Us  | Store Policies  | Privacy Policy  | Links

Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to info@HGBooks.com

Copyright©2005. All Rights Reserved.