HGBooks Home
E.D.E.N. SOUTHWORTH [Emma Dorothy Eliza Nevitte] (1819-1899)

Mrs. Southworth was a very popular novelist of the domestic-sentimental school. She was born in Washington, D.C., and educated in Boston. In 1840 she married Frederick Southworth of Utica, NY and they settled on a farm in Wisconsin. Within 3 years she returned to Washington without her husband, but with an infant son. A daughter was born a few weeks latter. As a single mother, she soon had great financial difficulties and turned to writing Her first novel, Retribution (1848) was followed by some 60 similar romances with melodramatic plots. Most of her novels were set in the South. Some of her more popular novels include:

The Curse of the Clifton, or the Widowed Bride, (1852)
The Missing Bride, (1855)
The Hidden Hand, (1850)
Allworth Abbey,(1865)
The Fatal Marriage, (1869)
The Maiden Widow, (1870)
Self-Raised, or Out of the Depths, (1876)

Many of her works were first published as serials, and as such are hard to find, but many nice early reprints (1890-1920) are available. It would be a collecting challenge to locate all of her titles. Here are just a few:

The Deserted Wife
Ishmael, or in the Depths
The Mysterious Marriage
A Leap in the Dark
The Bride’s Fate
Miriam, the Avenger; or, The Missing Bride
The Artist's Love
A Beautiful Fiend, or, Through the Fire
Brandon Coyle's wife; a sequel to A Skeleton in the Closet
The Bridal Eve
The Bride of Llewellyn
The Broken Engagement, or, Speaking the Truth for a Day
Broken Pledges : a story of noir et blanc
The Coral Lady, or, The Bronzed Beauty of Paris

Home  | About Us  | Contact Us  | Store Policies  | Privacy Policy  | Links

Questions, comments, or suggestions
Please write to info@HGBooks.com

Copyright©2005. All Rights Reserved.